"1/2 inch gear clearance rule"

PitDaddy

Disclaimer: I am new to go kart racing and am learning on-the-fly...

Anyone have ANY idea what the "1/2 inch gear clearance rule" is in go kart racing? It states in my local tracks rules "The ? inch gear clearance rule will be strictly enforced. Anyone not in compliance will lose his or her points for the race day." But that's it! Nothing else! I even searched several search engines online and only one link to another track popped up stating exactly the same thing - with NO explanation of what it means! I can't find anything explaining what it is! :confused:

as i understand it... and I'm usually wrong... it's a safety issue... the kart as raced sitting on a flat level surface... the rear gear... the one your chain goes around on the rear axle has to have 1/2" clearance to the ground... ie: you can't have a huge rear gear that would/could plow a trench in the track... or someone if you were to run over a body part... that was still attached to a body...

That's honestly what I was thinking, but without more context or description, that's only one possible explanation... does sound "common sense" though. Thanks.