1/5 Oval medium grip

I’m new to karting and I’m completely flying blind on what gear ratio I should be using. The track I would be running on is a mix of clay and decompose granite with tight turns. I’ve been told to use a 10-70 gear. I’m guessing my total weight would be around 360 pounds and my motor combination is a Tillotson stage one. Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

I’m new to karting and I’m completely flying blind on what gear ratio I should be using. The track I would be running on is a mix of clay and decompose granite with tight turns. I’ve been told to use a 10-70 gear. I’m guessing my total weight would be around 360 pounds and my motor combination is a Tillotson stage one. Any help would be appreciated, thank you.
How many RPMs do you need to turn it ?

No way a 10/70 would work unless you have really big diameter tires .
1/5th mile is 1000 feet+ .
11/80 with 36" diameter (circumference) tire , we turned 7500 on a tenth of a mile track .

Last edited:
Whoops circumference not diameter
I did purchase some tires from a fellow that are Large diameter.
Going to need some additional info .
A stage one Tilloston engine should turn more rpm then 5000 is it restricted in some way ?
A flat kart not a micro midget or mini sprint ?
Treads or slicks ?

Kart, as I mentioned I’m new to karting. Yes the Tillotson has a flywheel that’s rated for 10,000 RPMs I’m sure I could probably run it up to 6000 with no problems. Here’s a picture of my Kart.
F803C254-9AFB-4211-8D4B-AB160FD34744.jpeg

4500 5000