196cc performance problems

I have a 196cc engine, im not sure on the brand. I enjoy small engine mechanics, but have never messed much with timing. I completely dissembled this engine to deep clean and paint it for use on a go cart, but after reassembling it refuses to run. I installed a new jet, air intake and exhaust, as well as an 8 degree timing key. Could somebody help me out?? I am suspecting the timing key, due to the fact I have never used one before or messed with timing at all.

Also note, I have good compression, very good spark, and a new carb and jet with a cold air intake installed. I really can not see what could be wrong, the engine ran before tear down.

Timing key is probably backwards , or sheared already if it backfired at all .
Put the original back in .
The key should have the cut out in the rear , so the flywheel moves clockwise .

Give us more details about the build , did you get inside the engine , or just the external parts ? The more we know helps us figure out what advice we can give . Pictures can even help . Stock flywheel , ect. ect.

Give us more details about the build , did you get inside the engine , or just the external parts ? The more we know helps us figure out what advice we can give . Pictures can even help . Stock flywheel , ect. ect.
I disassembled the engine completely. All I did not remove were the studs that hold the rocker arms for the valves. It has the stock flywheel, 18 lb. valve springs, and a 8 degree flywheel key, plus full stage 1. Governor is deleted, and it has a new spark plug as well. I will try to get pictures asap