420cc birthday

rkcarguy

After being crowned the track "destroyer", killing 3 small block clones, I am pleased to announce that my 420cc big block has surpassed a calendar year of propelling my 470#'s of kart and driver fatness around our demanding 19 turn 3/4 mile asphalt track with nothing but oil changes and one valve lash adjustment:)

Special thanks to Luke at PFM for all the advice prepping the engine to OVKA rules, and the great service with the parts I ordered:)

schawwwweeeeeet! Now go paleo and be a world beater

I was a 222# freshman in high school when I biked everywhere and didn't have an extra # on me. Isn't going to happen. I'm already on the Paleo diet btw....
I could stand to lose maybe 15#'s tops.

Stock rod. I did give the oil hole a "3 angle port job" though. I've turned it 5700 a couple times but I actually ran faster taking one tooth off the rear sprocket which landed me at 5500 peak rpm in the last race. Being these are designed to be ran up to 4000 rpm I don't feel like I'm pushing it too hard. We have a 5 week gap between the June and July race, I'm planning a tear down/inspection and may put a billet rod in at that point, it does have over 10 hours of racing time on it now. I also want to cc the motor at TDC and shave the head to minimum while I have it apart.
It's been amazing so far, even after sitting for a month I'll prime the carb(blow into the fuel tank vent) give it a little spritz of gas and it often starts on the 1st pull.

Cool! Yeah, we have had these motors last up to 3 years per ovka rules with nothing but oil changes. I am glad you are having fun with it!

Most of us run the stock rod FYI. There is no difference in switching to the ARC. The arc is actually a bit shorter than the stock predator rod.