briggs flathead

noahsm1th

I am wanting to run methanol in my Briggs 5hp flathead, a raptor. I'm new to methanol/methanol engines, I was wondering what do I need to do to run methanol in my flathead??? do I need to change something??? do I need different parts or what???
fyi my engine has a ARC billet rod, slightly heavier springs, 28mm Mikuni style carb, and a exhaust.
thanks guys

A new jet for the carb. just look up methonal jets for the raptor. You’ll find them.
oh thanks man! is that all im gonna need to change?? I was talking to a guy and he said something about I need to change the timing or something like that.... just making sure if that's all I need to change. Thanks

oh thanks man! is that all im gonna need to change?? I was talking to a guy and he said something about I need to change the timing or something like that.... just making sure if that's all I need to change. Thanks
Hmmm, not really too sure on that one. I’ve never had an issue just changing the jets out. But I only ever ran my raptor at the track for

I know you’d get more performance out of it. I just never ran it in a race so I never cared about switching or fiddling with the timing. I’m not too versed with engines anyways. I just knew about the jets.

Methanol burns much slower than gasoline, therefore, the fire must be ignited sooner to gain the power benefit from using it.

Jetting will be somewhat influenced by the timing set.
More timing, more fuel.

Your overall strategy influences this.

You really haven't give us enough info to determine a actual jet size...
Theres basically 2 different type of these Chinese Knock off carbs.. The one thats a copy of the actual Mikuni is a decent carb and you can buy replacement jets for them... The other one (Lesser priced ones) are a hit and miss and very little back up parts available (AS I have been able to find)