Burris No Prep vs Prep

With a brand new set of Burris 33a’s. How does one determine if any prep is needed or will a new fresh cut non prepped tire work best?

What are the differences in track conditions that determine prep is needed or a new non-prepped tire is best.

I know if the track is wet you need the prep. But, let’s say you’ve not have rain in a week and the watering of the track doesn’t seem to be extreme.

Where do you race? High momentum tracks in East TN a lot of people don't prep Burris until they get harder (60+). A new 33 should duro about 52. Best way to find out how much prep you need is to run no prep, and slowly work your way up. Fresh cut should be buffed. You want to try to maintain that as much as you can, because once they seal up they won't grab the track as well.

I am new to karting as I assume you are, but I find kart tracks harder to read than a traditional big car track. I usually just hotlap and make a decision off a combination of how my kart feels plus what my laptime was. If my time is fast generally the track will take more prep, but there are alot of different situations that can effect your decision. Once you start racing more you will learn to feel how your specific chassis and engine feel with the right combo of roll speed and grip. There isn't really a set rule for this because sometimes I feel like I'm sliding, but I also know that more prep will bog my kart down.

We raced last weekend at a Burris only track and while I have a few sets of danged near new Burris tires I will not wipe anything aggressive on them. Track was hard red clay with a bit of sandy stuff blowing across and I wiped with bite prep only. Tires were great. We just dont see many wet slow tracks so bite is all I use on them. Very pleased.