burris tire cuts

timmabear

I am new to racing andvtrying to order tires. Our local shop asks do we want round or flat cut tires. Can someone please explain the differance and what they are for. Thanks

If you are racing local and the local shop is asking questions. you might want to ask a few more also.
I would think they would be telling you what you needed. or should need. Not that you have to follow there advice.
just seems they should know.

if you are racing local and the local shop is asking questions. You might want to ask a few more also.
I would think they would be telling you what you needed. Or should need. Not that you have to follow there advice.
Just seems they should know.

x2 x2 x2

Round cut have a more "round" profile cut into the contact patch. Flat cuts have exactly that, a "flat" cut profile across the contact patch. The flat cuts typically are cut between the wear dots on a Burris and leave most, if not all, of the shoulder on the tire. They are also typically cut thin because their advantage would be on higher biting tracks. The thickness of the shoulder changes the spring rate (think coil spring) of the tire -- more shoulder = higher spring rate. Low bite tracks generally require more prep and lower spring rate (ie thicker rubber in the centers (crown cut, or round cut,) and the shoulders cut past the 2 mold lines) on a Burris.