camber...how do you know when its just right?

W5R

The question is, how do you know when you have the camber just right for any particular racetrack? I have always went off experience, less for flat tracks and more for banked tracks is what has been working for me. When I say less I mean less negative right front and less positive left front cambers. Normally I end up around +.25/-2.5 for flat tracks and +.5/-3 for slightly banked tracks, with a 2016 Faktor on Burris 33's tires, decent-medium bite tracks but occasionally low bite. So, how do you know when its just right, or if you are leaving a little speed on the table by not changing camber to get it just right?

I'm still fairly new to the set up game but, I have seen guys run a chalk stripe across the tread on the front tires. After the race they check the stripe to see if any is left. I haven't tried it, but I've seen it done. Don't know how accurate it is, hopefully someone else can explain it better. Joe

The question is, how do you know when you have the camber just right for any particular racetrack? I have always went off experience, less for flat tracks and more for banked tracks is what has been working for me. When I say less I mean less negative right front and less positive left front cambers. Normally I end up around +.25/-2.5 for flat tracks and +.5/-3 for slightly banked tracks, with a 2016 Faktor on Burris 33's tires, decent-medium bite tracks but occasionally low bite. So, how do you know when its just right, or if you are leaving a little speed on the table by not changing camber to get it just right?
Modern lto karts use rf camber to balance front to rear traction. Once maximum traction is achieved, any adjustment will result in less front traction.

Lf camber helps start the weight transfer to the right rear to use the stagger to help kart turn. Adjustments change the timing of the start of transfer.