Carburetor Tuning

Ayrton C.

Hello, I'm new to karting, I use a Briggs and Stratton lo206 motor and my elevation is at 89'. I used the carb on track and noticed that I was making no power compared to other people and the carb was from Reno, which is at 4,500'. Quite a big difference of elevation. Could someone help me with a good jet size and also how I should set up the float? Thank you!! First race is in March

Welcome .
First is this sanctioned racing ?
There are very little room for changes on the rule set . though there is room .

You need to leave the jet alone as you can only run the stock jet. However, you want to richen the needle (move the clip down). You will also probably want to adjust the air bleed screw on the outside of the carb (likely will want to screw it in some).

Set the needle on clip 2 or 3.
Floats @ .875".
Airbleed screw to get the highest rpm, then adjust idle screw back down to 2200.
Run it.

Be sure to take time to clean the carb very well as they easily plug up fuel passages and/or inlet needle hang up and floats stick (especially if it's been sitting for any length of time since it last ran correctly.)
Also check that the main jet is the proper 95 jet -- for a while, some Rocky Mtn. clubs were allowing a 93 main.

-----
🏁Thanks and God bless,
Brian Carlson
Carlson Racing Engines
Vector Cutz
www.CarlsonMotorsports.com
Carlson Motorsports on Facebook
33 years of service to the karting industry ~ 1Cor 9:24
Linden, IN
765-339-4407
bcarlson@CarlsonMotorsports.com

Set the needle on clip 2 or 3.
Floats @ .875".
Airbleed screw to get the highest rpm, then adjust idle screw back down to 2200.
Run it.

Be sure to take time to clean the carb very well as they easily plug up fuel passages and/or inlet needle hang up and floats stick (especially if it's been sitting for any length of time since it last ran correctly.)
Also check that the main jet is the proper 95 jet -- for a while, some Rocky Mtn. clubs were allowing a 93 main.

-----