Clone Engines $50 or $500?

guitarman715

So, I am looking for an engine to start racing this year. This will be my first year karting. I will be running Clone Medium with AKRA rules. I know seat time is more important, but honestly I don't want to waste money on a engine if I need one that is alot better. I just want to get something good. So on craigslist I see clone engines anywhere form $50 to $500. I have been goolging the crap out of this and I still dont really understand. If all the engines are supposed legal, they are gona be within a half horsepower than each other. So would I benifiet from having a higher dollar engine? I dont quite understand what would be the purpose of dropping $500 on an engine if it has the same HP. Please advise me, I am a noob, excuse my noobiness.

Some will be just stock some are blueprinted, your looking for an AKRA legal engine. Most blueprinted legal engines rum any place from $500-$1000 for a clone engine

Give me a call at your convenience. i am not attempting to sell you an engine. I am willing to inform you of what direction to go. 570-538-4263 Don Gordner This is my web site if you would like to know a little about me. www.dynodonkartengines.com

Dyno Don is awesome! He explained everything to me and I have a much much better idea on how these engines work and what is what. Thanks!

Just starting out, your best bet is to buy a legal engine for your class from a reputable builder.

IMHO.

Just starting out, your best bet is to buy a legal engine for your class from a reputable builder.

IMHO.