Clutch questions

Kartdad1r

I have a legel non restricted clone motor, and it has a "drum" clutch on there. I was told it was a stinger. I have no clue I am totally new to this karting thing. Ran stockcars for 12 years and now trying to get my 5 yr old daughter in this kart. Anyways what clutch should I put on there? I know there is many different clutches and settings for the clutch. I know I have to restrict the motor so I'm sure that plays a part as well from unrestricted to restricted? Was not sure if I should keep to the stinger clutch or bump up to something else? Thank in advance guys

The rules at the track you race are your first priority when picking a clutch. My experience is only with two cycles, but the disc clutch, in that area of competition, pretty much eliminated any centrifugal clutches.

The most important thing (after dependability) with any clutch is; can you adjusted it, relatively easily, to hold the engine at peak torque on the starts. If the clutch is holding the engine at peak torque, that torque is transferred to the axle, and with peak torque at the axle, you have peak horsepower at the axle. The formula works the same, at the engine or at the axle. Torque X RPM / 5252.1 = horsepower. In this instance, holding the engine at peak torque, all clutches perform, pretty much, exactly the same. With one exception; the amount of heat they produce while slipping. It takes power to generate heat, and that's power not going to the rear axle.

A bathroom scale, between the front of the kart and a strong wall, is a good way to measure how much torque is getting to the rear axle. When you find a clutch slip rate that generates the highest reading on the scale, that's going to be pretty close to what you want on the track. Be careful, don't over heat the clutch.