Credit Cards

I have several credit cards. I use different ones for different things. The thing they have in common is that they are all paid off at the end of the month.

I have a Visa card that gives 3% back for food and fuel purchases. I have an Amazon card that gives points for every Amazon purchase and I have a Master Card for everything else that gives 2% back.

Pay for everything with the cards, pay off the balance at the end of the month and don't buy more than you would if you were paying cash.

My wife and I both have credit scores over 800

One thing confuses me, maybe someone can explain how paying off our mortgage decreased my credit score by 5 points?
It reduced the amount/quantity of different types of debts you were successfully paying on.
Taking out a mortgage should raise your credit score a point or two.

At our age, Bob having a high credit score is more of a fun thing to do and have than something needed.
Fico credit checking will probably give the highest credit score with others probably a lower score.

Thats the dumbest stuff I ever read, the food is long gone but youre still paying for them?
My wife would of saved more than 10 with coupons, and no interest to pay on the 1000
Jamie you missed where he pays it off every month so it isn’t dumb it is a savings of 1 percent.

I'm thinking that Cope1 means that he pays the card balance off every month.
Of course, the credit card discount rate is built into the price of everything in every store, so if you pay no interest, you might as well get the cashback.

My credit score has stabilized at 817 for several years now. One thing confuses me, maybe someone can explain how paying off our mortgage decreased my credit score by 5 points?