Different valve covers????

Graham1728

Ok still a total newbie here, I recently bought two older karts from two different sellers for my daughter and I. Both motors are yellow and both say box stock project on them. However, one of them has the 4 bolt valve cover I see all over the web. The other has a 5 bolt valve cover. The other difference is that the "OHV" is written up and down instead of side to side. I can't find another one like it on the web????

Is this just a older style or something?

Thanks, Ryan

Some people will put the 5 bolt greyhound heads on the BSP engines for the better flow advantage of some of those 5 bolt greyhound heads. The 02 casting # 5 bolt was a really good flowing head, the valves were sunk a little lower into the floor of the chamber, which increased flow. I have a L01 5 bolt head that is the same way but better overall casting in my opinion.

Some of the 5 bolt heads are a little better, but most I've seen are not AKRA legal because of the sunken valves.

As a past techman I would have to toss someone who put a 5 bolt head on a 4 bolt head (yellow or red style) block..do to the fact that the 5 bolt head never came on a yellow style block 5 bolt heads were on HF blocks and the side cover & block are cast different, so interchanging of these parts are not "as compared to stock part"

Thanks for all the info. So I guess my next question is how do I know if it is a Harbor Freight head on a box stock project motor or is it a Harbor Freight motor with a yellow side cover and Box Stock Project stickers?

As a past techman I would have to toss someone who put a 5 bolt head on a 4 bolt head (yellow or red style) block..do to the fact that the 5 bolt head never came on a yellow style block 5 bolt heads were on HF blocks and the side cover & block are cast different, so interchanging of these parts are not "as compared to stock part"