Dirt Oval Beginner Tips

alexbowman

Hi Everyone!
I am just getting into the world of karting (haven't even bought my kart yet) and I am looking for as many tips or hints as I can get! My main questions are: What equipment is necessary to get started? What maintenance needs to be done every week to keep the kart running fast? Also what did you wish you had known or someone had told you before you started? And just any other helpful advice that you would like to throw my way!

Thanks in advance to anyone that replies!

P.S. if it helps, ill be racing at Lawrenceburg Motorcycle Speedway (Dirt Oval)

IMHO, best thing you can, should, do first is visit a local track, talk to folks there that are racing, see what tips they have, also ask them all the questions , like maybe if they know of good reasonably priced karts, engines, etc. some times you can find real bargains, plus they should be able to give you some help at the track.

^ All good advice.
I made a post in your other thread on here.
Biggest questions will be "What motor package do you need?" & "What tires will you need?"
Your sanctioning body & track's rules will dictate this much -- beyond that, it's kind of up to you in how much you want/choose to spend.
A beginner used kart could be found for $1000, or a decent competitive turn-key kart could be had for around $1500. Top of the line, all the latest bells & whistles, brand new equipment will run in the neighborhood of $5000 right now. Keep in mind, that is none of your safety equipment, or spares of anything. I am familiar with the track, (the 'Burg,) and can offer some more advice if needed.

Spend good money on safety equipment, a "decent" chassis, and a competitive engine. Short cuts general yield short results. Not that you need absolute top of the line stuff, but make sure that you are getting something that will compete, or you will quickly lose interest.