gearing

6fochevy

I am new to karting and only have ran a few times. I run a clone with a 14 tooth driver and had a 66 rear gear on. I had plenty of take off but no top end. Not sure what rpms I was running. The track is a 1/5th mile. Should I go to a 68 or 70 or go down?

Going smaller on the axle, (i.e. 65) might give you more top end, but what you would need to know is the rpm of the engine to know for sure. Having a gauge is really important.

From the desk of Al Nunley
Comments compliments criticisms and questions always welcome.
If the data does not support the theory, get a new theory. (Al Nunley)

I've got one but just not working.
then you don't really have one! Send it in, get it fixed!

I am new to karting and only have ran a few times. I run a clone with a 14 tooth driver and had a 66 rear gear on. I had plenty of take off but no top end. Not sure what rpms I was running. The track is a 1/5th mile. Should I go to a 68 or 70 or go down?

If indeed it's a fifth mile track That's 1056 ft or 352 full stride steps and it's a momentum track not one grooved, get it on a 17-64 if track has little bite and no room to pass go 16-61, reason it takes off and dies is with a 14-66 on a 1/5th mile if you had a working tack your turning it WAY to many RPM's.

Don't let yourself get confused by any comments coming by the paper pushing Ratio is Ratio guy's, make you think any different if your information is correct what I just gave you will work if you only have a 14 driver Go buy atleast a 16, If buying a 16 driver is totally out of the question PM me what clutch ya got and I'll send ya one.

To get that 14 driver close you would be on a 14-54,55

Good Luck !!

RP....I'am a little confused here ? what is a "Paper Pushing Ratio" see I have a gearing problems also on a clone.......Could we adjust the paper pushing ratio, how and where do I find it ??? Thanks in advance .....................