Got a little hot.... GoKart rebuild after CampFire

8745jack

Hi everyone
My name is Jack. I hope I’m in the right place, while I’m not a noob to mechanics but I am a noob to GoKarts.
I recently picked up an older kart for a project with my 10 year old. Ever since I took him to indoor kart place he’s been talking about wanting to get one and maybe even race. I live in Butte Co. where the famous Camp Fire happened last year. Short story long we got a free Kart that ran before the fire. Almost everything is singed on it but we already started to clean stuff up. I know nothing about karts but the parts on this thing look to be “pro” grade
engine turns fine and oil is clean. The fire burned up the front tires, front bearings are locked. Melted the wiring harness, seatbelts, seat cover, brake lines, throttle and other linkages

Goal is to rebuild it. I need help with IDing this kart and it’s parts and where to get replacement for what we’re rebuilding ?
wiring looks to be generic off the shelf chinisium kit.... similar to this, this is also what I want to order. Amazon.com: JINGKE Complete Electrics Stator Coil CDI Wiring Harness for 4 Stroke ATV KLX 50cc 70cc 110cc 125cc Quad Bike Buggy Go Kart Pit Dirt Bikes: Gateway

I have plenty of cars and other projects so the budget is mostly coming from my sons allowance, birthday money etc. I’ll help him but he’ll have to earn some $$$ for this thing.

Friend of a friend (I need to meet) races karts and has many used 6 inch tiress along with a dirt track on his property. Im waiting to hear back from him what size tires he has as these wheels are 5inch and I dont want to order anything that wont work with his tires.

Thanks for everyone's input

day we got it
HimEEVq.jpg

m9JoL9u.jpg

started to clean stuff up. currently the cage is off and getting powder coated
udh2PZL.jpg

qlMhaTf.jpg

engine is a roketa 200cc
qYC2AhL.jpg

Last edited:
That's a lot of power for a young kid to start out with.