Green Air Filter - Oiling

keithwarren7

Have a new 206 arriving soon and have been reading various stuff about caring for it and getting started with it. I am relatively new to karting (more specifically, new to working on my sons kart) and am unsure about something. I read things about "oiling" the air filter. Can anyone speak to that? Why would you do it (ie what value does it have), when to do it? How much to apply, how often? Is there a specific kind of oil/spray I should use?

If you are going to be racing on dirt, the first thing i would do is put some kind of deflector or home made fender between the RR tire and the air filter.
If it's a dusty track you can destroy the engine (rings) the first time out.
Oiling simply helps to keep (trap) the dust / dirt before it can get in the engine.
Even if you race on asphalt you can get a lot of dirt or debris thrown right at the air filter.
Even though the rules may say you aren't allowed to use any prefilters, i would lobby to allow it in many situations.
You can use a foam or fine mesh nylon prefilter to go over the air filter.
You can oil the foam pre-filters but i would not oil the nylon mesh pre-filters.
If you are going to oil the Green filter there are many racing products like Briggs, Klotz or K&N filter oil that you can use. The directions are on the spray can. You can get it from almost any advertiser on this site or maybe at your local auto parts store or even mas merchandiser.

Double check the Briggs rules. As long as you are using an un-modified Green air filter, there is nothing that says you can not use a pre-filter from my interpretation of the 2018 Briggs rules. Is there an organization the says no pre-filters?

Some sprint racing rules do not allow the use of Pre-filters because of the fear that someone just might put something under the prefilter or treat the air filter with some type of power booster or accelerant.