head porting

bsimon79

Hi,newbie here. im new to karting and to small engine building. I like to build my own motors and do my own things to them. i have a little bit of experience with porting heads but there was one thing that I find different opinions on. I see the high flow heads that some sell and the valve guides are cut down to the port floor and there is no guide sticking up. Do they actually grind the valve guides still in the head or do they just install shorter guides? I want to do this to my gx160 but not sure about it. I want to know if It will cause more stress on the head and if it will gain or loose power. I notice that people with high hp motors have these heads because they need the flow. i want to do this to my head on my mild motor with maybe 8hp. Just a guess so please dont hate on me for that.I want to know if it will be too big of a port and loose power and flow like crap or if it will improve a lot and make a good motor. I plan on using stock sized valves and the head ports will still be the same size so i can use stock gaskets.

please help me out and let me know what you have to say

Thanks

The guide and bowl will make negligible difference on your engine, concentrate on the floor and short side radius.