honda gx390 stock timing, what are you getting?

KartFab

So, first time measuring timing. Using a decent timing light and spinning the engine over with a drill, valves out. I have a jeggs 11" precision degree wheel, and measured tdc with a piston stop (used lock tite to fix it into position so the inside adjustment threads would not budge). So i did the whole counter clockwise, clockwise thing, divide by two, then that is what you set your degree wheel to, then cranked it down. Turned engine counter and clockwise and got the same degrees from TDC as my measurement so i know for a fact i have actual TDC.

Next marked the block, and the flywheel at a perfect 90 degree angle, hooked up the timing light and gave it a spin with my drill. Marked where it was firing (used feeler gauges to gap the magneto to exactly .4mm).

Long story short, is that timing read at EXACTLY 22.5 degrees before top dead center no matter how many times i did it, or how fast i spun my drill. Now, i double checked TDC again with the piston stop, got precisely the same number rotating counter and clock wise, and then rechecked timing. still the same 22.5 degrees BTDC. Now factoring in human error etc, i can see being off by a half a degree or so, but i was thinking these engines had timing of 25 degrees BTDC stock.

Am i just being weird, or is this normal?