Hoosier Tires?

Blakec9

Hello, I am new to the UAS world and will start running them next season. I have read on here the discussion between treads VS slicks and still feel a little confused on why UAS mostly runs slicks. Also why do the Outlaw winged karts run treads and do you think the winged karts would be faster on slicks? I have a lot of back round in racing on dirt and all our big cars of coarse used treads. With the amount of power the UAS karts are running why do they not run treads? I would think a Hoosier ground and cut properly would help all around on a UAS kart. Just curious on everyone thoughts and theories....

Hello, I am new to the UAS world and will start running them next season. I have read on here the discussion between treads VS slicks and still feel a little confused on why UAS mostly runs slicks. Also why do the Outlaw winged karts run treads and do you think the winged karts would be faster on slicks? I have a lot of back round in racing on dirt and all our big cars of coarse used treads. With the amount of power the UAS karts are running why do they not run treads? I would think a Hoosier ground and cut properly would help all around on a UAS kart. Just curious on everyone thoughts and theories....
Some places require the treads on the outlaw karts. Setups and tech help are all aimed towards the treads so alot of folks wont venture off.

One thing is track promoters may not allow treads . They can tend too tear up a track . Your generally not riding the cushion as they say .
Most tracks are prepped hard , flat and smooth (sorta) ...;)
Outlaw wing karts are more sprint car , racingnut knows them and there rules .

I had Burris treads on my UAS ride. Ran ok, so I thought. Put slicks on, gained .5 sec instantly, no prep.

In a nut shell, slicks are faster on UAS karts.