How do you guys clean your clone engines?

I'm new to the dirt track. I like my stuff clean, but I've always been told you don't wash a race car. Generally I clean everything with a wet rag, and some simple green. On asphalt our stuff just doesn't get that dirty.

I've got clay dust everywhere in all the nooks and crannies, and the wet rag isn't cutting it.

Are you guys using the hose in anyway?

Yes , I put a cap on the air filter adapter and the end of the silencer , spray the entire motor with the Wal Mart brand de greaser , let it foam up a few minutes, then power wash the whole kart down . Never had a problem doing it this way . Just take off the clutch and temp and tach guage before washing and your good to go .

We use Simple Green Aviation aluminum cleaner, spray and let sit a short time before taking the garden hose to it. Engine capped, as others told you. Looks like new.

You can also blow it off at the track with your air hose .
Or at home . Tooth brush for the small spots .
Be careful about spraying the engine with carb cleaner et all . It can wash off some paints .

We pull the motor, front hubs, rear axle, chain and body off the kart.
Motor remove clutch, cap off any openings, spray with simple green, hose off, dry with air gun.
Kart same way.
Hubs and axle get taken apart, bearings re moved, cleaned oiled and put back together.
I do pretty much the same except don't remove the body. The engine comes off the kart and gets sprayed down with a fruit tree type pump up sprayer with hot water and degreaser. The kart gets the same followed by a rinse with the garden hose.
Once everything has been cleaned I airhose everything, spray with WD-40, airhose again, then wipe with a clean rag.

For clones I bought a special parts washer. You just throw them in and hit the silver switch …. 😂
28DBAEDE-1C74-4F7A-8817-4533A61A8469.jpeg

I never use a water hose since I got it clean, not