How to decide tire prep

Medic262

I’m new to karting again after several years away. How can I determine what I need to prep with. I’ve heard if the track is soft and damp you want a softer tire if it’s hard and dry a harder tire is that correct thanks

In the BIG general picture yes your in general correct, BUT as pointed out there is a lot more to it, it depends on the tire and If Burris the compound, and then it's not just Duro it's how it got there.

If Burris 33s first I'd try a new set of 2021 round cut's with NO prep, If they hook up they'll be fastest, I'm not the best one to ask for Dry Dusty slick None of our eastern pa tracks go dry dusty slick, I know a Medium type prep black sand mix does pretty good but can't say it's best.

If you are in the mid west , I would give Brian Carlson from Carlson Motorsports a call or message him on here . There's a real good chance he knows the track and what works best ! He also has a good line of preps .

That's a general rule of thumb, yes.
We've got a very simple, yet effective, Burris tire and prep program.
Our Black Bite 2.0 adds bite without softening.
Monster Bite adds a ton of bite and softens quickly. (also works well as a PRW)
Probably the only two cans you'll ever need to own for 33s.
Give us a call if we can help you.

-----
🏁Thanks and God bless,
Brian Carlson
Carlson Racing Engines
Vector Cutz
www.CarlsonMotorsports.com
Carlson Motorsports on Facebook
32 years of service to the karting industry ~ 1Cor 9:24
Linden, IN
765-339-4407
bcarlson@CarlsonMotorsports.com
I’m new to karting again after several years away. How can I determine what I need to prep with. I’ve heard if the track is soft and damp you want a softer tire if it’s hard and dry a harder tire is that correct thanks