How to wire a Mychron on a 206

USMarine1108

Hey guys, been reading a lot but I'm not finding the answer to this. Long story short I want to swap the Mychron3 that came with my kart (KT100) over to my son's LO206. I'm no slouch mechanically or electrically, just want to make sure there are no tricks I need to be aware of before I pull the plug and start running wires. Anyone have a pic of a 206 with a Mychron wired to it they're willing to post?

Thanks.

For the 206, all you will need is the actual unit, the lap timer, and an RPM lead.

The RPM lead gets wrapped around the spark plug wire 3 times, with the end of it then facing the plug.

For the 206, all you will need is the actual unit, the lap timer, and an RPM lead.

The RPM lead gets wrapped around the spark plug wire 3 times, with the end of it then facing the plug.

Will the temp sensor not work? I already put it in, about to run the rpm lead now.

And thanks!

Most people don't run a temp lead. You can't tape the shroud or rejet. It also will raise the plug out of the combustion chamber and some don't like to do that.

Remember, if you use the temp lead, you are not allowed to remove the spark plug sealing washer per Briggs rules.

If you run two wires, don't let them get next to each other. Make them cross at about 90 degrees to each other so the electromagnetic forces don't jump from wire to wire.

If you still have the clip on the tach lead, clip it on then put a small pull tie about an inch away for strain relief. If the clip is not there, wrap the tach wire around the plug wire and wrap it with electrical tape then a pull tie to keep the tape on also, pull tie for strain relief.

Sundog

If you run two wires, don't let them get next to each other. Make them cross at about 90 degrees to each other so the electromagnetic forces don't jump from wire to wire.