Jr2 Purple Plate RPM?

1fasttiller

Hi fellas, We're running a pretty big 1/4 track here in Central Florida and I recently put a small tach with recall on my sons kart just to see where we are. We've been fast most nights, winning 5 out of 9 races in his rookie season so I just wanted to get some ideas of where I should be to begin really fine tuning the kart and gearing to move on to bigger and better tracks with more competition.

The motor is a Waller clone that I went through completely and refreshed. The cam is unknown, no markings on it so I can't say what I have. It just works!

We average 5880rpm all night. Once I've seen it turn 6000. Does this sound right for a purple plate? I'm an old flathead and 2 stroke guy so I'm still learning these clones and figuring out what works...

If this is a small pipe and your drops are less than say 600 ish, I wouldn't think twice about taking another tooth off the rear sprocket. Keep an eye on lap times, you'll probably find this will yield faster laps.

Thanks Chris, I've been contemplating dropping a tooth. He's getting smoother every race and really good at keeping his momentum up.

Hi fellas, We're running a pretty big 1/4 track here in Central Florida and I recently put a small tach with recall on my sons kart just to see where we are. We've been fast most nights, winning 5 out of 9 races in his rookie season so I just wanted to get some ideas of where I should be to begin really fine tuning the kart and gearing to move on to bigger and better tracks with more competition.

The motor is a Waller clone that I went through completely and refreshed. The cam is unknown, no markings on it so I can't say what I have. It just works!

We average 5880rpm all night. Once I've seen it turn 6000. Does this sound right for a purple plate? I'm an old flathead and 2 stroke guy so I'm still learning these clones and figuring out what works...