Keeping Tires Ready Over Long Break

jaymancds

I had already rolled my tires, and had prepped two sets to within 5 points of where I wanted them to be. Now with this "postponed" season start, I'm wondering how I can keep from having to start over with the rolling process. A trusted racing buddy told me to do one of two things. 1. Wipe conditioner twice a week or 2. Get them low (low 40s) and then wrap them in cling wrap where they are "air tight". I am trying #2 as it seems more cost effective.

Are either of these viable options for say racing starting in May? Should I just accept that I will need to start over whenever we get the green light? I'm a total newb with a tight racing budget and I'm trying not to spend when I don't need to be.

I like option number 2, but I wouldn't try to kill your tires before cling wrapping them. I would just put a good coat of your desired prep on them and cling wrap. I wouldn't touch them again until 2 weeks before your next scheduled race. jmo.

I had already rolled my tires, and had prepped two sets to within 5 points of where I wanted them to be. Now with this "postponed" season start, I'm wondering how I can keep from having to start over with the rolling process. A trusted racing buddy told me to do one of two things. 1. Wipe conditioner twice a week or 2. Get them low (low 40s) and then wrap them in cling wrap where they are "air tight". I am trying #2 as it seems more cost effective.

Are either of these viable options for say racing starting in May? Should I just accept that I will need to start over whenever we get the green light? I'm a total newb with a tight racing budget and I'm trying not to spend when I don't need to be.
Which tire ? What are you wiping outside with, aggressive ? Medium ? Hard track ?