kt 100 power

hi guys, newbie here. I have a spare kt 100 not blue printed that I would like more power out of on gas. compression porting more fuel are my thoughts now. do you have suggestions on what I can do? I have heard of trimming the bottom of the piston also. this will be a hot lap engine only. thanks, chuck

Put exhaust at 90 degrees, transfers at 115 to 116 degrees, intake at 90 degrees, squish at .030 14degree angle 10CCs . Jon Brogden has a post about boring the carb bigger follow that along with intake passage to fit carb, you can play with the timing, doesn't make that big of a change with these basic changes on a stock bore and stroke. if you try to put a TT75 or any crank that's 50 mm bore the engine then use Buller's 54mm piston for a Yamaha put exhaust at 88 degrees the rest the same this will make your engine 115cc ?

thanks michael, does anyone know if the original owners manual has the info needed to bring a kt 100 up to 20ish hp? thanks, chuck

Chuck,

Whatever Mike Collins wrote is probably going to be as good or better than any other information you can find. He has done TONS of testing on stock AND modified Yamahas and has been building engines for decades. Highly recommended!

PM

thanks ted, It wont be legal. Im to old to be rubbing and racing.LOL I raced at one time, Im just hot laping to get that rush again before I cant. thanks chuck
You should come long-track roadracing... the physical demands are less, and the racers in most classes are typically more patient. Plus you get to run at cool venues... People into their 60's, 70's, and even a few beyond are doing it...

@Pete_Muller -- recommend a 9cc head if it's non-legal engine for better conrod life and a touch more power?