LO206 Engine Builders

IRQVET

So I recently sent my engine off to TS Racing in Florida, and after getting it back I was a bit taken back. Engine ran/ raced fine, but I was removing my clutch this afternoon and in doing so, noticed my exhaust header bolts, and my supports were only finger tight. So I'm curious (as I am no expert) what items I should be looking at given the circumstances? (Where there is smoke there is fire?)

I also just picked up a used kid kart for my daughter, an older Arrow with an Lo206, that was touched by a place called Faster Motors. Never heard of them, but I'm not super knowledgable about engine builders.

Anyone else what to share their experiences, or offer any advise as to what to look for and/or check?

Attachments

• TS racing.JPG
    TS racing.JPG
    109.5 KB · Views: 52
  • Faster.JPG
    Faster.JPG
    118 KB · Views: 53
Faster motors is Jimbo on here. He's out of Wisconsin and IMO one of the top guys when it comes to the animal/206 platform. Shouldn't have any issues with that. Never dealt with TS but that sounds like something you should definitely call and talk to them about.

Exhaust bolts commonly back out. That's why it is mandated that they are safety wired.
When we ship an engine, it does not have the exhaust on it (considerably more expensive to ship with the ex bolted to the engine.) We choose to ship the pipe alongside the engine in the same box (much cheaper to ship.) We use our own pipes (same as customers') for dyno purposes as well.

ALWAYS check bolts often on a race engine. They are prone to loosening due to vibration, rapid heating, cooling, gasket crush, etc.

Jimbo is a popular builder and the engine should treat you well. Same with your TS engine.
L206 racing is as much what you do with your kart as what a builder/tuner does with your engine.

Consider sending your engines to us when they're ready for a rebuild - we work on anyone's engines, and we'd be glad to help you out.

-----
🏁Thanks and God bless,