Looking to get into karting

noahfee

Hey guys, I'm brand new to this karting scene. Looking to get my son (6) into it. All my knowledge is around micros and sprint cars, so go easy on me here if I ask some stupid questions!

-What is the difference in size for rookie kart vs adult kart? Same? I've also read to stay away from kid karts because they are a nightmare to resell, and to adjust an adult kart to kid.
-Difference in blue and pink Maxxis?
-What motor (cc) is rookie class? All I've found is "red plate .375 small pipe..." Just stock Harbor Freight motor?
Looking to race dirt around KC area (Independence and Emma) if that helps...

Also, if you have anything for sale for cheap ($1K-ish) around race ready, let me know. Obviously not looking for a high quality kart, just something cheap for him to put around in and practice for a while. Thanks!

Mo predator racer has one for sale he is in sw mo .
Clone is 196cc predator is 212 cc.
Kid karts a small sized with differnt engines typically a 50cc comer .
Flat karts are basiclly one size w. Kid run them with seat sized accordingly and the pedals adjusted too fit . 42 inch wheel base .
blues are for the left side , pinks on the right .
Red plate 375 should be a clone engine . Verify with track .

Welcome!
I highly suggest kid karts. Not sure who told you about reselling stuff but when I looked for one they were no where to found. Making them extremly valuable to me anyway.

Kid karts typically start from a stop, unlike every other class has a rolling start. Most tracks completly understand and embrace this being a striclty LEARNING/fun class too. Not so lenient in the full size kart classes for kids.