Need help with modifying a flathead engine

Good evening everyone,

I'm new here. First and foremost, what a great forum for engine lovers!
Anyway, I'm an engineering student in Portugal and am currently working in a project where I have to modify two flathead engines to compare the performance between stock and opposed piston engine configuration.
Due to the unique configuration and flathead engines not being readily available, I ended up buying two B&S 124T engines.
I've been preparing all the parts for modifying but I lack the experience and would deeply appreciate all your experience regarding a few issues I have.
- I wanted to use the stock carburetors (reference 799866). I disassembled the entire engine so that I will keep the stock exhaust, disable the governor and move the intake so that the carburetor will end up above the flywheel and starter, thorugh the ventilation case. The idea was to use a single throttle cable for both carbs but it's not as easy to adapt the stock carburater. I'm considering replacing the stock carb with a PZ19 or PZ20, however, these seem to be for up to 125cc engines, not 190cc such as this engine. The idea here is not to get the best performance but to compare the performance gains, therefore I do not need the best carb but it sbould be compatible with the engine and not limit its performance. I can either install a similarly sized carb or adapt the intake to a 30mm carb, but somehow, and after reading some threads, it seems that for these low power engines, the PZ19 should be enough. Could you shed some light?
- Also, I read here that some people complain about the exhaust muffler. I can delete the muffler and use a 90º bend and straight pipe. It even would be useful in the long run once a turbocharger and electronic injection system are installed. Will it reduce performance, increase or not have any significant impact?
- Any more advice, questions, suggestions?