need some engine help

I'm new to the whole dirt racing kart thing and will be running a couple karts on a buddy's backyard track. Just need to know if what I plan on building will work for me. Non Hemi predator with billet flywheel, .020 billet rod, 18 lb springs, .625 carb on methanol. I only plan on turning it 6000-6500 rpm, so what cam would work best for me? I can do any machine work that is required. Any ideas or comments on this would be appreciated..

thanks
T

forgot to add, other engine gets the same parts and is a 196cc greyhound

Last edited:
I would look for a black mamba Jr cam from smallenginecams.com, with 26lb springs, mill your head .050-.060 for more compression, and bump the timing to 34 degrees. If you decide to go with a bigger carb later on that will help you out alot also and you'll already have a good cam and springs to back it up. I would try to find a .880 or .930 big pipe to use also if It were me. Those 18lb springs are more of a cheater stock spring, if you want to keep them I would just use a mod2 cam from dyno cams

What kind of hp should it make? Would it be better to run a Mikuni 22 on race fuel instead of methanol?
What about running the Dyno Cams CM cam and 22lb springs? Would i need longer pushrods and would stock rockers work?

Last edited:
Stock rockers and pushrods are fine until you get into higher hp range. With what I mentioned and a Mikuni 22 on alky you should see around 15hp, little less if you use gas. Don't know much about the CM cam

I would assume replacing the lifters with a new cam is a must on these engines too? Are the standard clone lifters ok or does the black mamba jr require the billet pieces?