needing to vent... 1am and cant sleep... =(

subbietjw

so I'll start with the basics... I'm a 28 year old male, that has worked hard my hole life. a bought 2yr ago I landed my dream job as a trainee machinist... I was very happy when I got it!!! I put in an app and told them I would do what it took to learn the trade. didn't matter if it was sweeping the floors or wiping down machines. as long as I was learning the trade! and of curse I was a trainee you get the grunt work... I was ok with that because I was learning the trade and running the machines. long story short me and my shop foreman bumped heads a few times over the work I was doing. when I left my old job I was under the impression that I would be trained to run machines. I would say 80% of the time that wasn't what I was doing... I spent most of my time there polishing parts... and that's just not the job for me!!! I'm WAY to active to spend 10hr a day sanding/polishing parts. so I started pushing them to give me more mill and lath work... that's what I wanted to learn... that's why I was there... i'm seeing parts fly by me that I know I can do! but I wasn't getting them... ended up getting in to a big one with my foreman and he took me into the boss... and I explained to them I was un happy with my job. I showed up early for work (latterly everyday by at least 45min.) ready to work and learn! but you aren't giving me that. I feel that you guys are pushing me into a spot I don't want! I hate sanding parts! (it wasn't that I didn't want to do that work. because I didn't mind it! but that was every job I got! I rarely got to run the machines.) I came here for 1 reason, to learn to run the machines! about 2 weeks go by and they come to me and lay me off. "they said we are running short on work, and I could leave my box there. when work picks up I would be on the call back list."