New (I think) type of governor question.

mpire7102

I've purchased a Predator 420cc engine from Harbor Freight, and have been watching many performance modification videos on how to remove the governor. I had an idea but want some input on it first because I'm no expert at this. If I remove the little arm from the governor gear, would this not effectively disable the governor without having to rework my throttle linkage? Or is this a bad idea? If so could you tell me why?

Thanks in advance for your input!

If I removed the mechanism that runs it though, it would be a good idea? I mean both the arm, and the little assembly on the side that moves it.

I don't know exactly what little assembly your talking about .
If there is anything internal it could cause problems .
Short cuts and not following directions rarley work for me .

I took the external component of the governor off and the little clip that keeps the shaft from falling into the block came off and my engine got bound up. I was extremely lucky and this happened when I was turning it over by hand so nothing was damaged. The lesson here is to not rely on that clip. If you do want to take this shortcut to remove the governor I would recommend cutting the arm off the piece that clamps to the governor shaft and reinstalling it.

It really is easy to open the engine and remove the assembly the right way. Just make sure you get every washer!