Predator RPM on and off stand

Cakalac

In setting the predator RPM limit on the stand does it make sense to set it at 4850 to not go over 5000 when the motor is only turning 45-4600 on the track? Why would you flirt with over 5000 setting the rpm at 4850 when you are not turning the motor but 4600? I'm new to predator and not and engine guy so I'm trying to make sense of this.

Is there any advantage hp wise to do that though and risk going over my 5000 limit? I'm trying to understand does my engine produce anymore power at setting it at 4850 on the stand and racing it at 4600rpm v/s setting it at 4700 on stand to not flirt with 5000 rpm rule and racing it at 4600?

All the predators I have dynoed including the winning engines at the two tracks I tech have a 5500 rpm max rule. When they come off the track the tacos read anywhere from 4800 to 4950. Peak horsepower is actually a tad bit less than that

All the predators I have dynoed including the winning engines at the two tracks I tech have a 5500 rpm max rule. When they come off the track the tacos read anywhere from 4800 to 4950. Peak horsepower is actually a tad bit less than that
So with that said Don, would you set the governor on mine at 4700 and leave it? We were trying to get it at around 4850 but i went to 5077 when I did that after the race. I have a 5000 rule. Gov must be hooked up but doesn't have to surge. I've yet to turn more than 4650 on the track.

I can’t actually tell you exactly where to set it. However I will share with you one situation that I recall. One racer did not have a tack on his go kart for me to check at the end of the event. So I put the go cart on the stand. His RPMs only registered on the stand at 4850. He won the race so I really don’t know what he turned in regards to being on the racetrack but I do know his RPMs were not above4850