Problems starting my karts

Ericclover73lo

I recently bought a gokart from a friend because I'm new to the sport but wanted to get started. The gokart started fine when I bought it but has been sitting unused for a few months because I have been busy with other stuff. The problem is that now that I found the time to take it to the track it won't start. Looks like fuel is not flowing beyond the fuel pump line. The engine on this kart is an Animal. It has no fuel shut off valve that I can see, just a kill switch button, so I'm not sure if I'm just supposed to continue pulling the start cord to make the fuel flow past the fuel pump and to the carburator or is there something else I need to do. I also have another kart with a gx160 engine with the same problem after sitting unused for months. It won't start and fuel is not flowing past the fuel pump. This one does have a fuel shut off valve but even when its open fuel is not flowing. Any suggestions? Thanks

Carb needle and seats are plugged from failure to remove fuel. If it is gas it is due to evaporation leaving a goop or crystalline substance, if it is methanol it is due to corrosion. Both carbs need to be completely disassembled and cleaned pay particular attention to the tiny holes throughout. At a minimum jets and emulsion tubes must be removed and cleaned with chemical solvents and compressed air. Ultrasonic cleaning makes the job easier. Assume that everything needs a full cleaning even if you cannot see the contaminating substance(s).

Last edited:
Correct.
One note : be careful with the air . I blew the seat out of a Tecumseh carb just Friday nite.
It's in never never land.

Agree, probably the carb gummed up, but try pulling the fuel line off the carb and turn the motor over. That'll tell you if the pump/lines are good.

Correct.
One note : be careful with the air . I blew the seat out of a Tecumseh carb just Friday nite.
It's in never never land.