RTO Sprint Kart

• Thread starter Deleted member 21174
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 21174

On a track with mostly right hand turns I'm curious if it might help to tune the kart for "RTO" - right turn only. To do this would I try running the front left a bit wider? Is there anything else that is simple and quickly reversible that might help?

When I first got into sprint kart racing, I figured I'm turning in both directions, so I need to keep both sides of the kart set up the same. Then one day I overheard one of the hot shoes at our track talking about setting the stagger on his kart. My first thought was that doesn't make any sense - we're turning both left and right so how does that work? Then I started playing around with wheel spacing. I found what spacing worked best for left turns and what worked best for right turns, and they weren't the same. Surprise surprise - my lap times dropped. Ever since then I think in terms of setting up the right side for left hand turns, and the left side for right hand turns, and they're rarely exactly the same. At least that's the way it works out on our local track.

The Europeans who came over for the NAKC (North American Karting Championships) at Charlotte, circa late 90's, early 2000's brought special chassis that favored RH turns (IIRC), and discarded them after that race... So yes, there's some benefit to setting up for the track you're trying to win at. Of course they also use a new frame every race too, so.....YMMV.