Safety - Dirt vs. Asphalt

Veiled84

Last weekend, we lost an oval asphalt kart racer in Jasper, AL. (prayers to his family). I'm new to karting and it just got me wondering - Is karting generally safer on dirt than asphalt? I've seen so many videos on Youtube where guys on asphalt go for a typical spin and suddenly just flip over. It makes sense... the racing surface is asphalt, the karts are light and they are slower than most race cars, so the asphalt dead-stopping the tires during a skid and sending the kart tumbling seems like a usual occurrence. On dirt, though, it seems most kart spins just go for a long slide and don't usually flip over unless they hit a berm, a piece of track comes up, or there's hard contact from another kart. So, is dirt karting generally safer than asphalt? Or is my perception simply flawed? Sorry for the noob question but I appreciate you all humoring it.

Last weekend, we lost an oval asphalt kart racer in Jasper, AL. (prayers to his family). I'm new to karting and it just got me wondering - Is karting generally safer on dirt than asphalt? I've seen so many videos on Youtube where guys on asphalt go for a typical spin and suddenly just flip over. It makes sense... the racing surface is asphalt, the karts are light and they are slower than most race cars, so the asphalt dead-stopping the tires during a skid and sending the kart tumbling seems like a usual occurrence. On dirt, though, it seems most kart spins just go for a long slide and don't usually flip over unless they hit a berm, a piece of track comes up, or there's hard contact from another kart. So, is dirt karting generally safer than asphalt? Or is my perception simply flawed? Sorry for the noob question but I appreciate you all humoring it.

Your perception is flawed.

You can get hurt badly on any surface, roll cage or no roll cage