Schu Smoking!

CMRracing

Ok I am new to karting and just received a re freshen Shu Motor and this is its first start up other than him on dyno and it smokes like crazy .pulled plug and wet with oil and so was top of piston. Is this normal and the rings need to seat or should I be sending it back?I would call but Iam sure he is at THUNDER right now and dont want to bug him..
Any ideas out there?
Thanks

No it shouldn't be smoking,, maybe a wisk of smoke when you accelerate but not continually smoke no.. As for rings coming in as you mentioned.. If rings aren't seated then its not making very good hp... I would say first to contact him but feel you will need to send her back...JMO

That's what I was afraid of ! Thanks for the answers.
oh and iam running 14cc of oil that is the correct amount right?

These engines do not require valve seals on either valve they do not smoke if they are removed. A valve seal on the exhaust valve is certainly not required, the manufacturers only put them on the intake because the oil can be drawn down the guide on the intake stroke, all pressure on the exhaust stroke is pushing out of the cylinder therefore oil will not be ingested. There is a very small likelyhood that oil is entering the cylinder by way of the valves, it is usually the head gasket not sealing at the edges next to the oil galley or push rod tunnel. The rings and cylinder have to be in really poor condition to causes excessive smoking, which if this is a fairly new engine is unlikely. I have taken engines off wood splitters and pumps that visually you can see the cylinder wear and feel valve guide slop and they hardly show any smoking or plug fouling, and they just kept churning away.

I let engine run on kart for little bit ,see if it clears up ,might have oil in top of head were it probly got turned upside down from the shipping .