Setting stagger in Burris 33a tires

Brinkljg01

I am new to kart racing and I keep hearing people talk abou staggering the tires and that it will help cornering. I know I have lots to learn with that being said can someone tell me what staggering is what it does for you and how to set it up. I race in medium clone 350 at a high banked oval clay track.

I am new to kart racing and I keep hearing people talk abou staggering the tires and that it will help cornering. I know I have lots to learn with that being said can someone tell me what staggering is what it does for you and how to set it up. I race in medium clone 350 at a high banked oval clay track.
Can you see, in your head, when going around the corner, the inside tire travels a shorter path than the outside tire. The point of stagger is to make both tires revolve the same number of turns going around the corner. If the staggers not right, the tire with the least amount of traction will be sliding, or turning too fast, which means less traction in either case. A rolling tire has more traction than a sliding tire. Because the inside path is shorter, the inside tire has to be smaller in circumference to accomplish that.

The difference in circumference can be calculated.

On a banked track, the inside and outside paths are different from a flat track, thus the stagger has to be adjusted for a banked track.

Calculating stagger is not hard, just a little difficult. Calculating stagger for a banked track is even more difficult. I wrote a spreadsheet that does both.

You enter the turn radius, the tread width center to center and the banking of the track and it tells you what your inside tire needs to be in circumference compared to the circumference of your outside tire.

Email me privately and I'll send it to you, free. There's a whole bunch of other neat spreadsheets for karting there too.