Sprockets

I agree apex96 lots of testing. The reason I asked this is because its been an on going argument on here. I just want to know what formula they use to get on their ratio. You can go to a track one person may run good on 18 driver other may run good on a 17. I think its more about the kart set up, tire prep, and drivers ability more than a ratio is ratio. Its more about testing and what works for you.

actually, if you were to look at the driver gears of the top 5 karts in a class at a track at any given race, chances are they are all on the same driver but different rear gears according to their driving style, line they run, and their setup/tire choices.

I dont have a dog in this fight and I am a beginner so I am most likely thinking wrong...but...would the advantage of a lighter weight driver gear be the same as the advantage of a lighter weight flywheel? ARC 4.05lbs flywheel vs ARC 3.5lbs flywheel... 3.5lbs accelerates more efficiently, right? 4.05lbs will hold high RPM more efficiently, right?

So, small driver gear on short tracks where you need to get off the corner quickly and a larger gear for a momentum track? Given like ratios.

I know a few teeth on a driver gear will not equal .5lbs, but its a race of 1/10's of a second.

Again, I am a beginner... I am probably confused.

I dont have a dog in this fight and I am a beginner so I am most likely thinking wrong...but...would the advantage of a lighter weight driver gear be the same as the advantage of a lighter weight flywheel? ARC 4.05lbs flywheel vs ARC 3.5lbs flywheel... 3.5lbs accelerates more efficiently, right? 4.05lbs will hold high RPM more efficiently, right?

So, small driver gear on short tracks where you need to get off the corner quickly and a larger gear for a momentum track? Given like ratios.

I know a few teeth on a driver gear will not equal .5lbs, but its a race of 1/10's of a second.

Again, I am a beginner... I am probably confused.