Tire Prep 101

flying squirrel

Hello fellow races -

I am new to the dirt oval game and have been out of karting for 15 years. I was hoping I could get some education on tire prep. I am not looking for everyone's opinion on what prep to use just the basics.

I know a lot of these answers will depend on the track/tire brand/compound but again I am just trying to gain a basic insight. Any opinions are welcome and appreciated!

When to apply
How to apply
How much to apply
Etc...

Would like some of this info too! Also wondering, you can make the tires softer just by prepping the outside or is it an absolute must to apply prep inside as well?

Matt Bryant at palmetto speed shop has good detailed information about how, when and how much for his preps ( perfection tire solutions) but there are others here on bobs that I'm sure are as good and are always willing to help anyone. Earl and Chris with trac tac and also Brian Carlson has his own line and these folks are always helping people here on bobs. These are just a few people but there are plenty of people making their own line of preps but I would suggest someone close to your region and can get the most support from.

trial and error, school of hard knocks, etc.... seriously, get with someone who races in your area to find out what brands of preps are working best. applying coats during the week gets you started, personally, I use a small paint roller, and then at the track day of race, roll a coat or two before going out on the track, then wait to see if the track starts to bite up or not, and adjust amount rolled on tires either up or down, its a big guessing game most of the time, sometimes you hit it, sometimes you don't. : )

hokie6260 - you'll probably need to prep inside and out. Call CKI in Midway, talk to Donnie Nall, he's the best around. 336-661-8500