Tired of getting smoked

shinbone7

I am new to karting, My kids race in the Jr stock 1 and Jr stock 2 classes, with clone motors. We have a prowler, and an ultramax, that are set up and handle well, both with vegas. I have two halls motorsports motors and race on a little less than a 1/4 mile track. they race mowers and dirt bikes on the same night with us. track is usually hard and fast. Last saturday night we turned a laptime of 12.02 and got lapped in 10 laps. The kids in the purple plate class was running the same laptimes as the box stock med class, that is unrestricted, their lap times were 10.5 consistantly. I noticed that they had flames shooting a foot and a half out of their winnie pipes and were told that the difference between us and them was their fuel. I will not cheat in anyway, due to wanting to teach my two boys to be respectable young men, with that being said what can I do to atleast catch them and run with them? you can email me at shinbone72005@yahoo.com if you do not want to post anything on here. I am new to the posts so I dont know how to do the private message thing, but will learn if anyone wants to share.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

if the track is hard and fast then the vega's might be a big part of your problem. also on a big track like that you'd be surprised on just how much being a bit off on your toe or having more stagger then you need will kill your speed.

A lighter kart running at the limit of grip can go just as fast as a heavier kart running at the limit of grip, if it is given time to build momentum and the hp advantage of the heavier kart is not more then what is needed to carry the additional weight.

It's also possible depending on the track circumstances, for the purple plate to be the fastest of all classes.