Tires not staying soft.

intimidator3

I am kind of new to softening tires and having some difficulty. I have burris 33s that are older. The lefts are like 2005 or 6 and rights are 2011s.I am trying to get them to punch in the 40s. The rights were punching 65 and left front 60. The left rear was punching 52.

I am using track tac grape. I roughed the tires up with a sander. I prepped many coats. Got them down to 55 rights....50 left front...

Couldn't get them any lower...so I took an electric heat gun and got them hot and then prepped. Got left front to 46 and rights to 50/52. Once the tire cools...rights go back to 55.....

Stuck now and can't get them lower
Any thoughts or ideas? Wrong prep?
Is this normal for older tires?
And I do not have a tire roller or hot box so no way to prep internally

I cant' speak for Trac Tac, but I would think you could get your 33s down lower with grape than you have.

Of course they were punching softer when they were warm...all tires will do that. Try to be consistent about temperature when you check them with a duro.
Room temperature works for the most part.

There certainly are other brands of prep that will soften your tires more/quicker than grape...but if you choose to stick with TT products, you might consider BTGP or Topaz as an alternative to grape (I believe you'll get better/longer lasting results with either.) Give Chris a call at Trac Tac -- he (and Randy) knows their prep better than anyone.

It could also be that your tires are simply "dry" - that is, out of natural oils in them (think pencil eraser - sure you can get them soft, but there's just no grip in a soft dry tire.)

Our Monster Bite will get you down in duro and it will stay down (even through several heat cycles.) Krug Green, goat pee, etc will also bring them down lower and quickly.

If I can answer any questions about our prep line, please feel free to call our shop.

-----
Thanks and God bless,
Brian Carlson
Carlson Racing Engines
Vector Cutz