Trying to figure out a dry slick dirt track. NEED HELP

intimidator3

First I will say I have only been racing for about a year now, so I am still a beginner and any help would be appreciated. Most people are running clay tracks with probably lots of grip, well I am running on a small DIRT track that is usually dry slick with only one groove and that is on the bottom because all the loose dirt is in the upper groove.

ANYBODY WITH EXPERIENCE ON THIS TYPE OF TRACK WOULD BE GREAT!

I just bought a 2012 Trick Redemption upgrading from my older chassis. I have read a lot on here about how tires are everything especially in newer karts. I need to know if I concentrate more on tires or chassis setup too in my particular situation. Last week in my first time in the kart it was dry slick as always and the kart was junk. It didn't handle anywhere. I switched from the Maxxis tires that came with it to Burris 33s that I usually run (burris 33s is what just about everybody is running, but most really not experimenting with anything else because this is a new track). The kart did better ,but still wasn't great. I finished second in the heat race. Right before the feature it rained on the track. It was wet when we ran the feature which it usually is not. The kart ran ABSOLUTELY GREAT and I lead wire to wire and lapped half of the field. I would barely turn the wheel and the kart would turn itself into the corner and about halfway through it would turn itself again. IT WAS LIKE DRIVING A CADILLAC COMPARED TO MY OLD KART. ( I am assuming what I described is what a kart is supposed to drive like when it is setup and transferring weight properly.) THIS WEEK IT WAS DRY SLICK AGAIN AND THE KART WAS JUNK ALL NIGHT.