VP110 Octane Fuel

I'm new to the LO206 motor and it looks like most tracks are running 93 octane fuel here in Indiana, except for SIRA. They are running 110 octane VP race fuel. Is there anything I should change in the carb settings to run this higher octane fuel?

Octane is a measure of the fuel's ability to resist detonation, nothing more. In a low compression engine, you'll probably go slower using it. If you have a high com, ((pression engine, depending on how High,(110 is for the highest compression) it would be better. And

To answer your question. the carb will handle each one efficiently.
As in any question about adjusting carb. There is little you can do to the 206 carb other than adjust the air bleed on the low speed circuit.
But that is the beauty of the Lo206. Everyone has to run the same gas, same jet, same spark plug, same everything. So there is little to gain by the engine. If everything is set perfectly to specs.
There are a couple of little thing that can be done that are technically legal That will very slightly!! increase the flow of air to the engine. Does not include any grinding, polishing, or altering of any part. But I will not discuss those thing. Most engine builders know them.

Al is correct. The higher octane rating does not in any way increase horsepower or torque of an engine.
All it does is prevent premature detonation of the fuel in the cylinder under pressure , Before the spark plug fires.
The LO206 has compression ratio of 8.5 to 1 which is well within the specs to burn 87 Octane fuel. And produce maximum hp and torque.
Any higher and you will gain nothing. Except higher fuel cost.

Last edited:
Thanks for the responses. I didn't figure it would gain any power since the motor is low compression, was just curious if the carb would need to be adjusted for the higher octane. I've been running clones on dirt for several years, so I found it odd that the 206 spec fuels are higher octane for no apparent advantage...