Weedsport Kartway Crowns Six Track Champions During Octoberfest Weekend


WEEDSPORT, NY (October 2, 2019) – The first six track champions in the history of Weedsport Kartway were determined last weekend as part of Octoberfest II on September 28-29.

The two day racing weekend, which featured multiple PRO divisions on Sunday afternoon, saw the year-long Performance Manufacturing Super Kart Series presented by Stirling Lubricants and Champion Racing Oil, draw to a close on Saturday.

At the conclusion of five championship events, Nick McGill stood above the rest as a dual champion, earning titles in Clone Heavy and Clone Super Heavy.
In five races, McGill finished on the podium three times in Clone Heavy, including a victory in the Pencils Down Showdown on July 7. McGill would never finish outside of the top five in championship events, helping him to a 63-point victory over runner-up, Doug Payne.

Payne would finish on the podium twice to take second in points ahead of Chris Pier, Richard Murtaugh and Jeff Chapman in the top five.

McGill’s run in Clone Super Heavy was even more impressive with five trips to the podium and two wins in his No. 13. McGill’s closest rival, Thomas Montgomery, trailed by 29-points, despite earning one victory.

Main event winner Murtaugh took third in the Clone Super Heavy title race ahead of Matt Chavis and Logan Winn.

Clone Light had the biggest weekly following of the season and was topped by Central New York karting veteran, David Hackett Jr. Despite not earning a win, Hackett never finished worse than fourth in five races, and cruised to a 39-point victory over John Palmieri and Tim Campbell.

Palmieri and Campbell would end the season tied at 416-points with Palmieri earning the tiebreaker due to two main event victories on the season.

Devon Tonkin and Madison Myers finished the top five in the Clone Light championship.

The Jr. Blue Clone point battle was a back and forth race between Owen Bird and Logan Crisafulli. Bird would get the edge in the title race by only 10-points after winning on Octoberfest Weekend, his second victory of the season.

Crisafulli had three main event wins in 2019, but a DNF in late July would drop the driver of the No. 88 to second in the standings ahead of Dylan Begy, Seth Whitney and Logan Abbott.

Jr. Purple Clone was by far the largest junior division of the season at Weedsport, with Anthony Pollow handily winning the championship by 26-points over Caiden Ayen. Pollow finished on the podium four times in 2019 with a season opening victory in the No. 56.

Ayen held second in the champion at season’s end over James Donaldson, Jason Parkhurst Jr. and Riley Begy.

Jr. Green Clone featured a tight battle all year long between Connor Crane and Parker Allen, with Crane pushing to the point after two victories to end the season. Crane would top Allen by a mere 13-points, as Grayson Adderly, Cody Stebbins and Derek Turner Jr. completed the top five.

Jr. Red Clone saw the closest championship of the season as Blake Banek earned top honors by only 2-points over Deegan Nichols. Banek and Nichols each won two main events in 2019, but Banek’s stretch of second place finishes proved to be the difference in the end.

Feature winner Kolton Gamble, Sawyer Bennett and Connor Allen were the top five in Jr. Red Clone.

A season ending celebration for all Weedsport Kartway members will be announced in the coming weeks at www.weedsportspeedway.com.

For more Weedsport Kartway and Weedsport Speedway information be sure to visit online at www.weedsportspeedway.com. Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @WeedsportSpdwy and LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/weedsportspeedway.

Interested in seeing your company listed in our press releases? Be sure to call the Weedsport Speedway office at (315) 834-3067 for sponsorship and advertising information.

About Weedsport Speedway: Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few. In 2018, Weedsport introduced the all-new Weedsport Kartway, just outside of the Speedway’s main pit area, to begin to foster the next generation of racers, crew members and race fans. Together, Weedsport Speedway and Kartway are excited to bring fans and followers a schedule of 15 racing events in 2019, hosting everything from Karts and Sprint Cars, to Late Models and Modifieds, Pro Stocks and Micro Sprints, even Flat Track Motorcycles. Couple the racing with state-of-the-art camping and track amenities, unmatched on-site television production capabilities, plus the ability for large scale concert productions and Weedsport is one of the marquee entertainment venues in the country.

Weedsport Kartway
Championship Points

Jr. Red Clone
1. Blake Banek**: 482
2. Deegan Nichols**: 480
3. Kolton Gamble*: 468
4. Sawyer Bennett: 380
5. Connor Allen: 346

Jr. Green Clone
1. Connor Crane**: 478
2. Parker Allen*: 465
3. Grayson Adderly: 447
4. Cody Stebbins: 419
5. Derek Turner Jr.: 411

Jr. Purple Clone
1. Anthony Pollow*: 460
2. Caiden Ayen: 434
3. James Donaldson: 423
4. Jason Parkhurst Jr.: 402
5. Riley Begy*: 396

Jr. Blue Clone
1. Owen Bird**: 478
2. Logan Crisafulli***: 468
3. Dylan Begy: 421
4. Seth Whitney: 403
5. Logan Abbott: 303

Clone Light
1. David Hackett Jr.: 455
2. John Palmieri**: 416
3. Tim Campbell: 416
4. Devon Tonkin: 384
5. Madison Myers*: 382

Clone Heavy
1. Nick McGill*: 469
2. Doug Payne: 406
3. Chris Pier: 398
4. Richard Murtaugh**: 397
5. Jeff Chapman: 375

Clone Super Heavy
1. Nick McGill**: 488
2. Thomas Montgomery*: 459
3. Richard Murtaugh*: 448
4. Matt Chavis*: 447
5. Logan Winn: 428