What happened to recreational karting?

Would you race karts for points / trophies without a payout?

• Yes, money payouts have ruined karting.

Votes: 17 50.0%
  • Yes, but I'd still race big shows for money.

Votes: 11 32.4%
  • No, the money is the primary thrill.

Votes: 3 8.8%
  • No, I'm a pro.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Unsure, never seen a race without a payout.

Votes: 3 8.8%

• Total voters

Ted Hamilton

Helmet Painter / Racer
I started racing at a club track in 1988. They ran a driver's school, where we were taught the usual racing lines, flags, etc., but we were also taught "no-contact" as a sportsmanship issue, and there was no payout of any sort. We paid $15 entry fees, and raced for points. There was a year-end banquet for trophies and some minor prizes, mostly donated by local companies where the dads worked.

Of the 7.5 years I raced that type of kart, I won the points championship 4x, had an undefeated year (including heats), and built a car with my dad as well as building my competitor a car (who had the nerve to beat me with it once. ) It was a time of great family memories, learning technical skills, enjoying the art of driving, and camaraderie of fellow racers. I participated in the State tour series, winning there as well. Cash was a non-issue. Everyone knew you always spent more than you could ever make back, and we preferred low costs with no payout.