Whats going to happen in the karting world

Colt sr

I saw that briggs and stratton filed for bankruptcy on the news the other day. Does this mean that we will all be running clones in the near future?

alvin l nunley

Premium User
Don't accept this as fact, but my understanding is that chapter 11 bankruptcy allows a company to stay in business, with protection from creditors, until they can reorganize. It doesn't mean they're not going to go out of business, as far as I know, but we'll have to wait and see. You can't take is to the bank though, because I'm no expert on the subject. Not even close!

01ron

Most of my flatheads started out as rototiller engines or pumps. It was not until they came out with the Raptor engines that I felt like I actually had a karting engine. Even then, I had some commercial use engines (steel bore dual bearing IC) that were always my go to engines.

Aren't the clones already dominating kart racing in most areas?
Back when Briggs & Stratton came in to dominate kart racing, they saw an opportunity (McCulloch was getting out). Briggs offered the WKA sponsorship in return for a rules rewrite that heavily favored its brand (several new classes of Briggs engines only).

Today we don't have a sanctioning body that is as dominant as WKA was, and the clone manufacturers are a loose group of foreign factories that only build engines on a contract basis (and those manufacturers come and go). So we don't have the same conditions as we did back in the Briggs / WKA days.