An EV work truck?

wrecit

Ok I worked in the power generation sector so I know about the issues with the EV will take over the world theroy. I also love gas engines not to mention rolling coal but thought I would throw this out there.

I been watching an ev company based in Ohio called Lordstown motors for the past 2 years (and development of their truck under the workhorse company for 4 years) they are finally ramping up to deliver the truck.

It is far from a sure thing and the road to production has been rocky but it looks like they are finally ready. The reason I think they can be viable is their truck design is using things nobody else is doing like putting a solid rear end with leaf springs and using 4 hub motors rather than traditional drive shafts. They are claiming you can replace a hub motor in 5 to 10 minutes using standard tools. The design has also lead to discussions because of the wheel hub motor design that it would be fairly easy to put a lift kit on the truck and they already claim and have tested off road ability (they have entered a prototype in some endurance off road races though they had to pull out early) they have presented the possibility that it can be worked on by the owner rather than having to go to special mechanics.

IMO as a carpenter by trade they have a dedicated work truck that will be able to handle loads and towing equal to the big 3 light duty gas trucks. Their initial offering is going to fleet work trucks with consumer sales hopefully starting mid 2023.

Right now stock price is $2.50 and this would be a long term investment of at least 5 to 10 years but some think they could be the Tesla of the truck world and 12 years ago Tesla cost $3.90 a share.

Again not a sure thing but dropping $10 to 20 a week into Robinhood could make life a little more comfortable in 10 years. It might be worth doing some homework to see if you might be interested

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220817-153939.jpg
    Screenshot_20220817-153939.jpg