Another Pro Gas ?

Petty

So Pro Gas is not the same class as last year? I have a slick 50 which is now illegal in pro gas?

That is correct. Pro gas is now a gold cup chassis and bodywork only class.

My name is Jerry Cole WKA trustee District 6 ( Michigan /Ohio ) , currently of 10 trustees, myself and Lee Camerra ,trustee District 9 are the only trustees with a working knowledge of the WKA road racing program. I joined WKA at the very first road race nationals held in 1972 at Road Atlanta and have been a member since then . I also have been an active supporter, participant and sponsor of the WKA Gold Cup series for the past 25 years, and missed very few events . I have been a WKA certified tech. inspector , both 2 and 4 cycle for many years and have conducted many WKA non tech training seminars .

With that being said and after receiving numerous phone calls concerning the new Gold Cup senior pro gas class I realized the rule needed to be cleaned up and more specific. I contacted Jack Reall and we worked out the details and his concerns on body work . The intent of this class is to use a chassis and body work normally used at Gold Cup events .
Gold Cup allows both CIK and WKA bodywork with no minimum width , the most common are the G-Man and M&M bodies .These are offered in both 38" and 42" width depending on the mfg. and made of plastic material . Fiberglass is legal but rarely seen or used and I have never seen any bodywork as used in road race sprint classes at a Gold Cup . Gold Cup rules do have max height rule , Tech Manual page 48 diagram 258.3 , 17" max. We also have a rule TM page 23, 101.5 Spirit and Intent which we will have to depend on for Daytona . The minimum nose width will be addressed at the next trustee meeting ,Jan. 2015 .
The rule for Daytona is as follows :

Pro Gas Senior Gold Cup Final 1 & Final 2
Chassis and bodywork must meet Gold Cup rules
Drive line, 219 or 35 chain and belt drive allowed
Pro Gas motor per WKA tech rules