Badmax 1/8th mile setup

drpredrocket

How much do you change the setup to run on a smaller medium bite track? I'm relatively new to karting so I'm looking for setup options.

There are books written on this subject.

The 1st thing you need to know is the differences in the track. A 1/8 mile track can have turns with the same radius as a shorter track. Of course the straights would be longer. The turns could have banking which would change things. The composition of the dirt could be different. The elevation of the track location could be different. "A shorter track"? How much shorter? And on and on!

Let me assume that the "shorter track" has turns with a tighter radius. You might need more stagger. You might need a lower gear ratio. Everything depends on the difference between the tracks.

From the desk of Al Nunley
Comments compliments criticisms and questions always welcome.
If the data does not support the theory, get a new theory. (Al Nunley)

we run a badmax and would be glad to help u out....u can txt or call me 315 271-9953....won many races on then

Thanks for the info! How do you mathematically figure stagger? Does front stagger change based on track dimensions? Is the book setup the best setup for a 350lb clone class?

Thanks for the info! How do you mathematically figure stagger? Does front stagger change based on track dimensions? Is the book setup the best setup for a 350lb clone class?